When I first started my baking adventure,one of the first recipes was scones.

I thought these seem easy enough and would be perfect for my dear friend Dorothy Tomassini. Well I wasn’t really expecting the dough to be so wet and hard to deal with. Since then its a breeze to combine and whip up a batch of scones.

 I was invited for tea with Mrs. Tomassini, and was asked to bring scones. I  was excited and forgot I had made them a few years earlier for her. Delighted with a challenge and having more knowledge about baking.

The first time I did these biscuit gems I simply used a large spoon and dropped the dough on the baking sheet. This time around I learned  two amazing techniques from America’s test Kitchen. Use a food processor and place the dough in a round cake pan to form a nice circle, easier to cut the scones into eight.

Ingridents

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour( try and use a lower protein brand     like Gold Medal) 

1 tablespoon baking powder

3 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt 

5 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 inch cubes

3/4  cup dried cranberries 

Zest from one large orange 

1 cup heavy cream

Instructions

Set oven to 425 degrees. in the work bowl of the food processor fitted with the metal blade ,place flour,baking powder, salt and sugar. Process with six 1-second pulses.

With the food processor, remove the cover and place the butter and zest  evenly over the dry ingredients. Cover and process with 12 1-second pulses. Add the crannberries and pulse one more time. Remove the dough into  large bowl.

Stir in the heavy cream with a rubber spatula until dough begins to form about 30 seconds .Transfer the dough onto your work space ( I tend to lightly flour my work board), knead the dough by hand just until it comes together. The ball will be slightly sticky, this kneading process is 5-10 seconds. You don’t want to over Knead the dough. Press the dough into a cake pan , then turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. With a sharp knife or bench scraper, cut into 8 wedges.

Place the wedges on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush with cream. Bake 12-15 mins you want the tops to have a nice light brown color. Cool on a wire rack for at least 10 min…( dont skip this part! it improves the texture) 

Serve with whipped sweet butter and your favorite preserves! 

Let me know about your tea party and how the guest loved your scones…… 

This recipe is adapted from the American Test Kitchen baking cookbook .

