image

image

I usually do big batches when I make this butter. So I’m going to cut it down and then tell you the changes you can make after.  How my peanut butter came about and why you will never buy store nut butter again. I love love love peanut butter I always have. Not only is it the perfect comfort food, but its a fast easy snack. I have bought and tested many brands, from the household name brands to high end all natural all organic. Heres the problems I faced (I know poor guy sqwish ! sqwish!) Well I will never ever turn down any type of peanut butter let me just say that to start. I actually prefer name brand over the oily organic ones. The thing is the name brand have too much sugar and salt. The organic ones that the oil separates is probably the most annoying thing in the morning or after the gym when I want it and the gross liquid tops over jar and needs to be cleaned up (yuck). After dealing with that I was turned off. I do know that there are other brands that do not separate and are delcious but you might as well get the all natural version the name brands produce because they really do have the same ingredients as overpriced fancy brands. (Except marketing label)
So I decided to just start making my own and controling the sugar, salt , and texture.

Ingedients
1 pound whole unsalted peanuts, unshelled
1/2 cup coconut- canola oil, blended together*
1/4 cup natural honey
Touch of sea salt (optional or desired amount)
* you can use other types of oil. I have used canola, grapeseed, vegetable and coconut. I prefer coconut -canola blend.

Needed
Food processor
Baking sheet
Damp linen

Place whole peanuts on baking sheet and roast 15mins on 325.*
Immediately take out and place in a large mixing bowl or large stock pot. Add oil, mix. Next the honey ,mix. The sea salt, mix. I use a damp linen cloth to place over bowl to keep the heat from escaping. One pound is about three cups so after mixing you could place all into food processor.**  To start pulse 10 times for 5 seconds intervals. Then switch to high speed and crush away. You will need to stop the processor every so often and scrape down and mix, then continue.
The rest is up to your prefrence on smooothness. I like to puree one cup real smooth and incorporate it into the chunky other 2 cups.
* roasting the nuts will release natural oils and I find it easier on your food processor.
** again I make large batches so I like to use the linen for the nuts in the bowl, while I process cups at a time.
If your not into sweet nut butters don’t
add the honey or control it to your likeness start with less then recommended and you can add on.
*** add Sea salt to you preference.
**** add less or more oil depending on consistency you are trying to achieve.
image

image

