image

This recipe was found and recreated by me from two amazing bakers in NYC. The book Baked Explorations was a great find for $1.00 at my local library book sale. When I flipped through the book I immediately fell in love with every single recipe. I wanted to conquer every one inside the book. Unfortunatly to me the book was intimating and was left on my shelf where I would daily page through and ponder.
So one day I said “you will make one thing from this book this today! ” And this amazing floral -citrus kissed cake was baked and loved by all in the land ( ok my friends and family). I can only say this book is one of the best cookbooks I have used. I have also been to Baked in Chelsea NYC, and experinced thier version of oilve oil cake it was amazing as expected. These guys are crushing the partry world and I couldn’t have more respect for them.

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 large eggs separtrated
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup plain yogurt
3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil *
Zest from 2 oranges
Teaspoon vanilla
* the better the quality of oil the more aromatic flavors will come through in the cake.

image

Preheat oven 350
Generously spray or butter bundt pan, dust with flour . Remove excess flour. Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. In the mixer bowl with paddle attachment. Beat egg yolks until pale ,light. Slowly pour in sugar. Completely incorporate. Add yogurt and extra virgin olive oil. Mix throughly. Add orange zest and vanilla. Mix until just incorporated.
Add flour mixture in two parts beating each addition until just combines about 10seconds. Scrape down the bowl and beat for 5 seconds.
In another bowl whisk egg whites until stiff. Scoop 1 cup into batter. With a rubber spatula gently fold in. After about 30 seconds add remaing and continue to fold with gentle,love, and care.

image

Pour and bake 40-50 minutes rotating pan half way through bake time. Cool in pan 10 mins and then cool on wire rack compelety.

image</a

I would love to see seen pics and where and who you shared the cake with. Post and comments below.

