I love this cook book and restaurant located in NewYork City. I was shopping on Amazon last year and under recommended for you was a bunch of different books. But one stood out . I am a very visual person and being an amateur food photographer and stylist I am attracted to a certain look. The cover art and name hooked me in and it was in my cart and shipped the next day. Not keeping track I recieived the package ripped it opened. A friend asked what makes this cook book so special then the million out there? I told her I just loved the cover art and name, and had no idea about any of the recipes inside this was true. And like usually she laughed and said thats so like Louis..”Its pretty I want it !” (Kinda true) I flipped through the pages gushing over the food and the styling of the pictures. I love the way this book is set up by the seasons. The intro and writing makes you feel like these guys are just talking to you over drinks at the Pub on the corner. I highly recommend checking this book out and dining at their resturant. I was blown away from the time I stepped into their restaurant until I left. Eveything about this place was truly a great experience .
image

6 tablespoons butter,room temperature
2/3 sugar
1 egg,beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 baking salt
1/2 salt
3 very ripe bananas, mashed*
1 cup of chopped nuts, chocolate chips, or dried fruits ( cranberries YUM) ( all optional)

* peel the bananas  first. Mash in a bowl, set aside. I found that leaving out darkens the fruit. if you are pressed for time .Leave the bananas out mashed longer before starting bread.
** underripe bananas can be stored in a brown bag and place in a dark space for a few days. This will ripe them quickly.Just leave yourself a note, not to forget them in the closet….What ?? I mean that never happend to me …ok once.
image

Instructions

Preheat oven 350°.
Lightly butter and flour a 9″x5″x13″ loaf pan

In a large bowl, stir together the 6 tablespoon butter, sugar, and eggs until creamy. In a separate bowl, sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together  ( I whisk together all dry first before sifting). Little by little, add the flour mixture to the butter alternating with the mashed banans, beating the batter smooth with each addition. Fold in any optional ingredients. Place the batter in the prepared pan. Bake bread until browned and the center springs back when pressed . About 1 hour.
Cool the bread in the pan for 10 minutes before turning onto wire rack to coool compeletly.

