image

Bonjour Mon Amour!

image

One of my favorite indulgence are these little French Lovers ! I wont name name’s but I was in a famous coffee shop and while ordering black coffee from a mile longer list of sugary foo foo drinks I recieived a REALLY just black. I kinda think the Barista was inside like “this Guy rocks man!” Anyway I also purchased over priced packaged Madeleines. Dissappointed with the consciency and sweetness I pawned it off to a friend as if they were the best thing I ever put in my mouth (tricked work). A few months had past and while shopping at a discount desinger outlet I came across the pan needed to make these spongy cakes. SOLD! I was determined and ready. I kid you not that same week a magazine arrived at my apartment with guess what??? Yep! Daniel Boulud’s Madelines recipe. The pastery Gods were looking down on this guy that day ( well a lot of times). So thank you Chef for sharing. I did not ajust this recipe in fear of the late 18th century pastry chef, Madeleine Paulmier was looking down, and in French saying “You better REP-RE-SENT !” Well they were amazing and I can’t wait for the perfect time to make them again.
More of the shell shaped pans would be nice so off to shop I go before I forget.

3/4 all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 large eggs
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon of light brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
6 tablespoons warm melted unsalted butter
Nonstick vegetable oil spray
Confectioners sugar (for finish)
One pastry bag or large ziplock bag
Madeleines baking sheet

*orange or lemon zest work

Side note this recipe calls for a lot of whisking just saying.

Preheat oven 400°
Lightly coat pan with vegetable oil spray and dust with flour, tapping out excess.
Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Then in a different bowl whisk eggs, granulated sugar, light brown sugar, honey and zest until smooth. Whisk in dry ingredients till just incorporated then, ready…. Whisk in melted butter. Transfer batter to a pastry bag and chill one hour.**
Pipe batter into the pan, filling two-thirds full, ( I had some left in bag, I just placed it in the refridgerator until later)
Bake Madeleines 8-10 minutes. Edges will become golden brown and centers puffed.
Tap pan on work surface to release. Shake on confectioners sugar and serve warm.

** Oh ! The left over batter wasn’t much but I waited for pan to cool and made a few more with remaining.

image

image

Outlet stores are a great way to get discounted bake ware. I have found some great deals. Have you? Also as we all know baking is not a cheap hobby. Any other advice where to find steals and deals? Post away.
I hope these treats get you all the French Kisses you desire!
Au revoir !

