image

This is an awesome recipe that I adapted from one of my favorite chefs Ree Drummond aka the Pioneer Woman. I have made these bars with a few different fruit preserves including strawberry, blueberry, raspberry, and blueberry-cranberry-orange.

I wanted to make these bar as a sweet savory snack. When I first made them I was extremely happy with them. I mean who doesn’t love sweet savory buttery things! The problem was it was a little overkill for me and my gym friends. Because of this, I reduced a few of the ingredients and tried the recipe again. This time I was satisfied with the results. The recipe I used is below, and you can find the original recipe at the end of the post.

image
Raspberry!

Ingredients
1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 3/4 cup oats
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teasponn baking powder
1/4  teaspoon salt
One 12 oz jar of favorite fruit preserves

Directions
Preheat oven 350°
Butter 9×13 pan
Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, brown sugar, and oats.
Add chilled pieces of butter in dry mixture quickly with dough blender. You want to blend everything together but still see some of the butter pieces (think pea size).
Press half the mixture into pan. Set aside the other half. Spread fruit preserves using a spatula . Top with the rest oats and lightly pat into preserves.
Bake until light brown. About 30-40 mins depending on your oven.
Cool completely . Over night is best. Cut into any shape or size, I prefer small squares.


Below is the original recipe ingredient .

Ingredients
2 sticks of unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cup oats
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teasponn baking powder
1/2  teaspoon salt
One 12 oz jar of favorite fruit preserves
Feel free to try both forms of the recipe, you will not be disappointed. Have fun with this recipe! Change up the preserves, try flavors you would enjoy!

image
Strawberry
image
Blueberry (my weakness!)
Blueberry-Cranberry-Orange
Blueberry-Cranberry-Orange

Step by step instructions and photos will be up on the blog soon, stay tuned! In the meantime, report back and share which version you used. I love blueberry! Whats your favorite fruit preserve?

