This bread is just a great treat to have for company , breakfast with favorite perserves, or a quick snack in between meals. I modified the original which included more sugar, nuts, a sweet lemon glaze Oh! and had no poppies that was my idea.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cup sifted flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 tbsp butter softened
1/2 cup sugar*
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
grated rind of two lemons **
1/2 cup poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 350°
Whisk then sift flour, baking powder, and salt together. Cream butter with sugar. Add eggs, beat until light. throughly blend into flour mixture. stir in milk, lemon rind, and poppy seeds.
Pour into 9 “x 5” loaf pan bake for 1 hour insert toothpick. If it comes out clean it’s ready.

* The original recipe called for 1cup sugar,I reduced it to half.
** I love the lemony pop I get when I bite into this bread,so don’t hesitate to go crazy with the rind.

image

